Waiver Services

Medicaid Home and Community-Based Services (HCBS) Waiver

Medicaid Home and Community-Based Services (HCBS) Waiver, or just "waiver" is a program that helps people stay at home with the aid of supportive services instead of going to live in a nursing home, hospital, or institution for persons with developmental disabilities.

If you are enrolled in a waiver program, Medicaid could pay for such services as:

  • Nursing
  • Help with personal care and homemaking
  • Temporary relief for your caregiver or family
  • Adaptations to make your home more accessible for you
  • Home delivered meals
  • Adult Day Care
  • Emergency Response Services
The number of consumers that can be enrolled in a waiver program at any one time is limited. There are three state agencies responsible for administering these programs, however, the local department of Job & Family services plays a role in all of them by determining financial eligibility for the services.

There are several types of waivers. Each waiver program serves people who have a particular set of needs. The financial requirements are the same for each waiver program, except the assisted living waiver.

Passport Waiver
Individual Options Waiver
Assisted Living Waiver
Level One Waiver

To Apply For Waiver Services:

You, or someone acting on your behalf, may request an application be mailed to be completed and returned to:

Lucas County Job & Family Services
3737 W. Sylvania Avenue
Toledo, OH 43623


Come into the agency during regular business hours to complete an application.