Please contact our Bookkeeping Department at 419-213-4411.
Show All Answers
The Civil Division of the Clerk of Courts is located on the 1st floor of the Lucas County Court of Common Pleas which is located at 700 Adams St. in downtown Toledo, and is bounded by Adams, Erie, Jackson, and Michigan Streets. To reach the Civil Division by telephone, please dial 419-213-4490.
Contact either the Toledo Bar Association Lawyer Referral and Information Service at 419-242-2000, Legal Aid of Western Ohio at 419-724-0460, or Advocates for Basic Legal Equality (ABLE) at 419-255-0814.
Our bookkeeping department needs a "pay out" order and the order must be specific. The order needs to state the exact amount needed for the pay out.
Contact your Lucas County Recorder's office at 419-213-4400.
It depends upon a number of factors. Contact the Civil Division at 419-213-4490 and request to speak to the Journal Clerk. Provide your name or if possible your case number and request that the clerk check to see if the order has been received. It takes between 1-3 days for the Journal Clerk to receive the original order from the courtroom. If the order has not yet been received by the Journal Clerk, it may not have been file stamped or been received from the courtroom. The Journal Clerk will put you in touch with someone that may be able to determine the status of the case order.
Please contact the Marriage License Bureau at 419-213-4361. They are located on the 1st floor of the Lucas County Court of Common Pleas located at 700 Adams Street. The court is bounded by Adams, Erie, Jackson, and Michigan Streets in downtown Toledo.
Depends on what type of case you have. For Civil Court cases please contact the Prosecutor's Civil Division at 419-213-2001. For Criminal Court cases please contact the Prosecutor's Criminal Division at 419-213-4700. For Juvenile Court cases please contact the Prosecutor's Juvenile Division at 419-213-6951. For the city prosecutor please mouse over to the tab for Government and click "Which Court is Mine" to determime the court that services you city, village, or township.
To determine if you are in the correct courthouse, please look at your case number. If your case number begins with the letters CR, LR, or MS, then your case is scheduled in the Court of Common Pleas located at 700 Adams St. If your case begins with DR or DM then your case is scheduled in the Family Court Center. Cases beginning with CL are scheduled in the Sixth District Court of Appeals located at One Constitution Ave. Records pertaining to cases in the Appellate court are located at the Court of Common Pleas located at 700 Adams St. For cases regarding juvenile or minor children including traffic violations and misdemeanor or felony cases please contact the Juvenile Court Center located on Speilbusch Ave. in downtown Toledo. Their telephone number is 419-213-6722. Please reference the document "Which Court is Mine"to determine which municipal court district you reside in.
Individuals can access the register of actions regarding their case by using our search engine, DOCKETS ON LINE. Please use the link provided to go directly to our DOCKETS ON LINE search engine.
Beginning with the case filing, the case can be completed and the home sold at sale within 180 days. We have provided a Mortgage Foreclosure timeline below for your convenience. This timeline can play out in less than 180 days! Don’t wait…act immediately…Contact your lender first 30-90 Days that owner is behind in mortgage payments. 20 Days later owner receives letter stating that within 10 days legal proceedings will occur. 30 Days later Legal proceedings begin when mortgage company files complaint (lawsuit). 28 Days later owner has 28 days from receipt of complaint to respond or file an answer with the clerk of court. This must be done. Owner has no ability to stop foreclosure by dodging certified mail. Legal advice is recommended. Within 5-30 days later, mortgage lawyer files a motion for default judgment if owner does not file a response or answer with the clerk of court. Judge will sign default judgment, frequently without owner’s knowledge. This judgment will order the appraisal and sale of the property. Mortgage lawyer files with the clerk of court a legal form known as a praecipe for an order of sale which also orders the appraisal of the property. This is usually done without the knowledge of the owner. Within 3 Days the Clerk delivers the order of sale to the Sheriff. During the next 3 months an appraisal is ordered and completed, frequently without the owner’s knowledge. The sale date is set, usually around 5 months after the order of sale is filed. The sale is advertised in the newspaper and/or legal news for 3 weeks. This may be the only notice the owner gets of the sale date. Day of the sale the Sheriff will auction the property and sell to the highest bidder. Bidding generally starts at 2/3 of the appraised value. 7-60 Days After Sale a legal form called a confirmation entry is filed by the mortgage lawyer with the clerk of court. This orders the sheriff to prepare a deed, and it gives the new owner the right to file for a writ of possession. After the confirmation entry is filed, signed by the judge, and recorded by the clerk, there is nothing that can be done to stop the sale by the owner. Only rare legal irregularities can stop the sale at this point. Even bankruptcy cannot stop the sale. Sheriff deed is issued; new owner files for writ of possession. Sheriff will place a red tag on the door of the house stating the owner has 10 days to move out of the home. This may be extended for up to 7-10 days for hardship; any time needed beyond that will require the consent of the new owner. If the owner does not move out, the sheriff will enter and remove his/her belongings and place them by the curb.
Any inquiries regarding Federal Liens should be directed to the Lucas County Recorder's office at 419-213-4400.
The three major Credit Bureaus are Experian, Equifax, and Transunion. Contact your local financial institution for their telephone numbers, or search on line for the numbers.
Yes. Please contact our Bookkeeping Department at 419-213-4411.
Under Government select Clerk of Courts, mouse over to Legal Division and click your mouse. Select the division you want and click on it to open. Scroll down to link for Local Rules, or use the link to Legal Division provided.