Dog licensing for the 2021 season is December 1, 2020 through February 1, 2021.
The office of the Lucas County Auditor is open. Call our office at 419.213.4406 or email us at email@example.com.
If you need to complete a deed transfer, we recommend contacting a company that offers E-Recording, who may assist you for a fee:
Auditor's departmental phone numbers are listed below. Once you call the number and reach the menu, please dial the last four digits again as the extension:
Deed Transfer/Conveyance (419) 213-4439 or (419) 213-4332
Board of Revision (419) 213-4424 or (419) 213-4327
CAUV/Homestead (419) 213-4873
Dog, Cigarette or Vendors License (419) 213-4443
Finance (419) 213-4329 or (419) 213-4435
Disbursements (419) 213-4328
Tax Accounting (419) 213-4446 or (419) 213-4154
Special Assessments-Exemptions (419) 213-4292 or (419) 213-4154
Payroll (419) 213-4348 or (419) 213-4346
Weights and Measures (419) 213-4447
Homeowners Real Estate Questions (419) 213-4142, (419) 213-4434,
(419) 213-4155 or (419) 213-4153
Commercial/Business Real Estate: (419) 213-4833
GENERAL QUESTIONS: (419) 213-4338, (419) 213-4403,
(419) 213-4432 or (419) 213-4335
Email questions Outreach@co.lucas.oh.us
TEXT a question (419) 309-7877
Lucas County Auditor Anita Lopez (419) 213-4322
Why Should I License My Dog?
According to Ohio Law, every person who owns, keeps, or harbors a dog more than three months of age, shall, on or after the first day of December, but before the thirty-first of January of each year, register their dog(s) with the Lucas County Auditor. (O.R.C. 955.01)
License fees must be paid in full before the deadline of January 31st each year. Failure to register is a misdemeanor punishable by a maximum fine of $100.00. (O.R.C. 955.21)
How much are Dog Tags?
1 Year Dog Tag - $25.00 per dog
3 Year Dog Tag - $75.00 per dog
Permanent Dog Tag - $250.00 per dog
After the licensing deadline of February 1st, dog licenses will be assessed a penalty fee of $25.00 per dog.
Where can I Purchase a Dog Tag?
Dog Tag Application (PDF)
- Online using the Auditor's online dog tag order site.
- In Person at: Participating Agencies (PDF)
- By Mail: (Enclose Completed Application & Fee)
Anita Lopez, Lucas County Auditor
Attn: Dog Tag
One Government Center, Suite 700
Toledo, OH 43604
Payments may be made by Cash, Check or Credit Card. Checks need to be payable to agency where purchased. Payment options vary at each location tags are sold. Participating agencies may charge an administrative fee of $0.75 per application.
Multi-year (3 year Dog Tag and Permanent Dog tag) tags must be purchased from the Lucas County Auditor's Office or Lucas County Canine Care & Control's Office.
- Registration forms must be postmarked on or by February 1st to avoid late fees.
- If your check is returned to us unpaid for nonsufficient funds (NSF), your account will be debited electronically for both the face amount of the check plus applicable returned check and collection fees by ECOLLECT, LLC.
- If a dog needs to be removed from your account (i.e. deceased, transfer to another owner, etc.) and to avoid future mailings with the dog's information, call the Lucas County Auditor's Office at (419) 213-4443 ext. 4443.
Kennel Licenses can be purchased at the Lucas County Canine Care & Control, 419-213-2800. (O.R.C. 955.04)
Lucas County Canine Care & Control
410 S. Erie St.
Toledo, OH 43604
Ohio Assistance Dog Tag
When an application is made for registration of an assistance dog and the owner can show proof by certificate or other means that the dog is an assistance dog, the owner of the dog shall be exempt from any fee for the registration. Registration for an assistance dog shall be permanent and not subject to annual renewal so long as the dog is an assistance dog. (O.R.C. 955.011)
Can I get a Replacement Dog Tag if Lost?
If a tag is lost, a duplicate shall be furnished by the Lucas County Auditor upon proper proof of loss and the payment of $5.00 for each duplicate tag issued. (O.R.C. 955.08)
Can I Transfer a Dog to a New Owner?
The seller of the dog shall give the buyer a transfer of ownership certificate that shall be signed by the seller. A copy of the transfer of ownership certificate is available at the Lucas County Auditor's office. The fee to do a transfer of ownership is $5.00 per dog. (O.R.C. 955.11)
Found a Lost Dog?
The dog owner look up was designed to help reunite lost dogs with their owners. The license on a dog's collar will identify the owner so the dog can be returned home. If a dog wearing a license is turned into Lucas County Canine Care & Control, the owner will be notified either in person, by a phone call or certified mail.
Dog Owner Lookup
Lucas County Loves Dogs
Dog owners who purchase a dog license will also receive a Lucas County Loves Dogs reward card (key fob). This reward card is good around Lucas County at participating businesses and organizations who want to thank citizens for licensing their dog(s). For more information, visit the Lucas County Loves Dogs web page.
Dog License Agent
In order to serve as a dog tag agent, please review the 2021 Vendor Requirements (PDF) and the 2021 Online Agent Agreement Form
One Government Center
Toledo, OH 43604
Phone: (419) 213-4406
Fax: (419) 213-4838
Monday - Friday
8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.