Licensing Your Dog

Dog Licensing Dates


Dog licensing for the 2017 season begins December 1st, 2016 through January 31, 2017.

Why Should I License My Dog?


According to Ohio Law, every person who owns, keeps, or harbors a dog more than three months of age, shall, on or after the first day of December, but before the thirty-first day of January of each year, register their dog(s) with the county Auditor. (O.R.C. 955.01)

License fees must be paid in full before the deadline of January 31st each year. Failure to register is a misdemeanor punishable by a maximum fine of $100.00. (O.R.C. 955.21)

Dog Licensing Fees


1 Year Dog License - $25.00 per dog
3 Year Dog License - $75.00 per dog*
Permanent Dog License - $250.00 per dog*
*3 year and permanent tags are non-refundable and are non-transferable.

In addition to the standard 1 year dog license, Lucas County dog owners can purchase a 3 year tag or a permanent (life of the dog) tag instead. 3 year and permanent tags are assigned to a specific dog and cannot be transferred or returned. Extended duration tags must be purchased from the Lucas County Auditors Office or Lucas County Canine Care and Control.

After the licensing deadline of January 31st, 1 year dog licenses will be assessed a penalty fee of $25.00 per dog.

How to Purchase a Dog Tag


Dog tags may be purchased one of the following ways:
  1. Lucas County Auditor at One Government Center, Suite 770 - (419) 213-4443
  2. Lucas County Canine Care & Control at 410 S. Erie Street
  3. Online renewal system
  4. Lucas County Area Vendors (view a map of area vendors): 
Island Variety
722 Dearborn St. Toledo, OH 43605
(419) 691-9277
Everything for Pets
2674 Woodville Northwood, OH 43619
(419) 214-0738 
Oregon License Bureau
3018 Navarre Ave. Oregon, OH 43616
(419) 698-4100
Gladieux Do-It Best
5120 Navarre Ave. Oregon, OH 43616
(419) 693-0601
Downtown License Bureau
1600 Madison Ave. Toledo, OH 43604
(419) 255-8247
Heatherdowns License Bureau
4460 Heatherdowns Blvd. Toledo, OH 43614
(419) 381-1109
Lucas County Canine Care & Control
410 S. Erie St. Toledo, OH 43604
(419) 213-2800
Pet Supplies Plus
849 W. Alexis Rd. Toledo, OH 43612
(419) 269-1622
Shoreland Animal Hospital
4940 Suder Ave.Toledo, OH 43611
(419) 729-0766
Market Place West License Bureau
3606 W. Sylvania Ave. Toledo, OH 43623
(419) 720-6900
Pet Supplies Plus
4115 Talmadge Rd. Toledo, OH 43623
(419) 472-5505
Pet Supplies Plus
6926 W. Central Ave. Toledo, OH 43617
(419) 843-1000
Pet Supplies Plus
5315 Airport Hwy. Toledo, OH 43615
(419) 382-9202
Sylvania License Bureau
4900 N. McCord Rd. Sylvania, OH 43560
(419) 885-0201
Three Dog Bakery
5236 Monroe St. Toledo, OH 43623
(567) 225-3647
 
 

 

Reminders

  • Registration forms must be postmarked on or by January 31 to avoid late fees.
  • If your check is returned to us unpaid for nonsufficient funds (NSF), your account will be debited electronically for both the face amount of the check plus applicable returned check and collections fees by ECOLLECT, LLC.
  • If a dog needs to be removed from your account (i.e. deceased, transfer to another owner, etc.) and to avoid future mailings with the dog's information, call the Lucas County Auditor at (419) 213-4443.

Lucas County Loves Dogs


 
2017_LCLDs_Logo_ORANGE.gif 
Dog owners who purchase a dog license will also receive a Lucas County Loves Dogs reward card (key fob). This rewards card is good around Lucas County at participating businesses and organizations who want to thank citizens for licensing their dog. For more information, visit the Lucas County Loves Dogs web page.

Found a Lost Dog?


Designed to help reunite lost dogs with their owners, the Lucas County Dog Tag database can search dog owner information. The license on a dog's collar will identify the owner so the dog can be returned home. If a dog wearing a license is turned into Lucas County Canine Care and Control, the owner will be notified either in person or by phone and certified mail.

Dog License Agent

In order to serve as a dog license agent, please review the vendor requirements and the online agent agreement.Dog owners who purchase a dog license will also receive a Lucas County Loves Dogs reward card (key fob).

Found a lost dog?

MULTIPLE-DOGS
  1. Dog Tags Department

    Phone: 419-213-4443